London Marathon 2016 – club places draw

If you've been unsuccessful in getting a place for the 2016 London Marathon, the club has this year been granted 4 places (thanks to our partner club Yate AC for their place). The eligibility and rules for the draw are as follows:

- only fully paid-up members of Westbury Harriers and Yate AC are eligible.
- priority will go members who didn't get a club place for the 2015 London Marathon and can prove that they applied again unsuccessfully this year.
- otherwise, priority goes to members who didn't get a place this year.

To enter the club draw send an email with proof of your rejection (if applicable) to club secretary Geraint Torrington  - , see him at training on Monday nights or send details to 41A Sherbourne Avenue, Bradley Stoke, Bristol, BS32 8DX.

The draw will be made in December with the date to be confirmed.

Cross-country in Cardiff (Gwent League results)

From left to right: Abdi Hasan, Ben Rawlins, Aidan Noble, Greg Hayward, Freddie Livesey and Sam Hopkins

Westbury's U15 boys (from left to right): Abdi Hasan, Ben Rawlins, Aidan Noble, Greg Hayward, Freddie Livesey and Sam Hopkins

Undeterred by the wet and windy weather, Westbury Harriers turned out in force for the second Gwent League fixture of 2015/16 - thank you and well done to everyone who ran in Cardiff on Sunday!

Seamus Robinson (U11 boys) and Abdifataah Hasan (U15 boys) once again won their races: both put in confident finishes to pip competition from Carmarthen Harriers in the closing metres.

Hannah Hobbs (U17/20 girls) also followed up her win in Bridgend by taking gold again.

Among the senior runners, Ann Metherall and Louise Pretty deserve a special mention for braving the elements to run their first Gwent League fixtures for Westbury Harriers.

The next Gwent League fixture is on our home turf, Blaise Castle, on Saturday 5 December, so please put the date in your diaries now. We not only want to field our biggest turnout of runners, but will need lots of helpers on the day - make sure you look out for more details soon.

If you’re interested in taking part in cross country, we’d love to hear from you - make sure you read our quick guide  and contact your team manager (details below) for more information.

Team Manager: Neil (

1 Seamus Robinson
44 Finn Goodhew
58 Piers de Voil

25 Johan Hobbs

1 Abdifataah Hasan
9 Ben Rawlins
20 Aidan Noble
23 Greg Hayward
58 Sam Hopkins
68 Freddie Livesey

27 Adam Wilson (Under 20)
31 Peter Barnes (Under 20)
34 Joe Connors (Under 20)
41 Ben Whitaker
45 Elliot Chard
63 Josh Smith

Team Manager: Simon (

7 Ruby Saunders
10 Amelia Honor
19 Meghan Porteous
27 Abigail Woodworth
28 Tanaya Ghosh
44 Eve Saunder

4 Kate Howard
10 Rosie Hamilton-James
19 Emily Whitaker
45 Charlotte Livesey
46 Molly Acton
55 Charlotte Bull
57 Anora Davies

3 Ellie Hobbs
20 Isabel Smart
24 Phoebe Gould
40 Isobel Parry
41 Charlotte Howard

1 Hannah Hobbs
8 Ellie Leather
11 Emma Taylor (Under 20)
19 Ella Brimble
26 Emma Tomes
27 Emma Jones (Under 20)
33 Georgia Taylor

Team Manager: Tamsin (

42 Lizzy Smith
60 Kelly Winstone
83 Tamsin Elson Chick
131 Ann Metherall
148 Anneke Bull
176 Sandra Sforza
196 Svetlana Jones
211 Smita Ghosh
217 Marilyn Palmer
222 Victoria Sloan
229 Emma Bagley
230 Eithne Noonan

Team Manager: Robin (

48 Oli Beale
61 Nick Smart
83 David Hobbs
118 Daniel Ewing
134 Robin Phillips
147 Richard Noble
153 Rick Wallis
165 Robin Nash
170 Chris Beck
173 Olivier Jougla
180 Ian Ruck
284 Justin Grimwood
350 Jullian Bailey-Gard (snr)
368 Mike Harris
434 Ian Smith